Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Forty-Two Years Today !

Today Mrs. Chatterbox and I are celebrating our forty-second wedding anniversary, and I’m reminded of the day I asked her father for her hand in marriage. Read about it (here).

Monday, June 27, 2016

The Eye of the Beholder

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so the saying goes. I inherited this vase, made by my dad's uncle. But is it pretty or ugly? You decide. Check it out (here).

Friday, June 24, 2016

Sorry, Mr. Einstein

The Internet is filled with patriotic and morally uplifting platitudes, and if you drew inspiration from this rejection letter please accept my sympathies, but I snickered when I saw this—because it’s so obviously a fake. Read about it (here).

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

A Humbling Confession

I’ve worked hard most of my life, paid my taxes and was an active parent when it came to raising our son, but I have a dark secret.  Read about it (here).


Monday, June 20, 2016

A Huge Announcement !

Some readers noticed that in recent posts I look thinner. In fact, I’ve been working at becoming healthier; so far I’ve lost fifty pounds. Read about it (here).

Friday, June 17, 2016

The Cure Will Kill You

Last night while watching TV a commercial appeared that made me shake my head. Read about it (here).

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Redefining Originality

The portrait looked familiar, even though I'd never seen it before, or had I? Read about it (here).


Monday, June 13, 2016

Last Night in Key West

A few pictures from our sunset cruise on our last night in Key West. Check them out (here).


Friday, June 10, 2016

Wednesday, June 8, 2016


Can one insect make up for a lifetime of bug torment? Read about it (here).

Monday, June 6, 2016

Hemingway's Polydactyls

One of the things Mrs. Chatterbox was keen on seeing in Key West was the Hemingway House. Read about our visit (here).


Friday, June 3, 2016

The Big Squeeze

Most people are now aware of the python problem in the Florida Everglades. We didn’t see any on our trip through the mangroves, but our guide, Captain Dave, had much to say about the region’s invasive reptiles. Read about it (here).

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

The Conch Republic

Among the first things we noticed after pulling into Key West were confusing references to the Conch Republic. Hundreds of souvenirs were labeled Conch Republic, including a hat I purchased for Mrs. Chatterbox. A little research provided information on an interesting event. Read about it (here).