Friday, October 30, 2015

Silent Screams

 I’ve been dabbling in fiction, and this piece just won honorable mention in a short story contest. I’m posting it in honor of Halloween. If you find spiders terrifying, you might want to pass on this; if not, check it out (here).


Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Commercial Angst

Is there one type of TV commercial that bothers you the most? To find out which one bothers me, check (here).

Monday, October 26, 2015

The Connoisseur

In 1961, judges for the Coopertown Art Association in New York awarded first prize to an abstract painting signed by an unknown Italian artist. They probably regretted their decision. Read about it (here). 


Friday, October 23, 2015


Children are often painfully honest, as I learned when son CJ commented on my self-portrait. Read about it (here).

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Monday, October 19, 2015

When Fantasies Come True

Fantasies don't usually come true, but this weekend one did. Read about it (here).

Friday, October 16, 2015

Free Is A Terrible Price

Do you share Bernie Sanders' belief that college tuition should be free? Read about it (here).

Wednesday, October 14, 2015


My gruff Grandpa had no idea I was painting his portrait. When he learned about it, his reaction surprised me. Read about it (here).

Monday, October 12, 2015


She was old and vain, but I'll never forget seeing her portrait. Read about it (here).

Friday, October 9, 2015

The Good Old Days

A popular mantra tells us that you’re only as old as you feel, but how do you know if you’ve actually begun the downward slide into old age? Read more (here). 


Wednesday, October 7, 2015

A Beautiful Woman Has Come

The Internet is buzzing with the possibility of a great discovery. Is the tomb of Nefertiti about to be discovered? Read about it (here).


Monday, October 5, 2015

Best Meal Ever

I've enjoyed many fine meals, but one dining experience stands out among all the others. Read about it (here).

Friday, October 2, 2015

Someone Had to be First

We know so many important names in history, but who was the first person to have their picture taken? Read about it (here).